A journey in strawberries

Strawberries are in season, so…
First attempt at making mini strawberry cakes

First attempt at making mini strawberry cakes

I had a go at making some mini sponge cakes, inspired by a recent bumper delivery of strawberries in the weekly veg box. As with most desserts I make, I was designing it to be super-quick, so all mixed in the food processor. A once-thought-to-be cardinal sin, now I swear by it. I threw a little ground almonds into the sponge mix and just favoured it with vanilla.

Recipe needs ironing out as cakes didn’t come out exactly as planned (it was more a crusty topping with a gooey vanilla filling – strawberries bringing up the rear). I’ll post the recipe once it is vastly improved, but I was reasonably happy considering they were a first attempt. They were still edible. Ben may not have eaten them though.

Leave a Reply

